The Best of 2018


As 2018 comes to an end and we prepare to welcome the New Year, we want to take a moment to reminisce on some of the year’s most exciting highlights. 2018 has been a year of growth and celebration here at CBU, and we’re so thankful to our community for sharing in this incredible journey with us. We’re #CBUProud to present, (in no particular order) the highlights of 2018!

We Got a New President!
We started our year off with a brand new President and Vice-Chancellor, David C. Dingwall. It was a careful and comprehensive selection process and we came out on top with a leader who is dedicated to the continual growth and quality of Cape Breton University.
David C. Dingwall Named President of CBU
Dingwall: The Early Days at CBU

We Underwent a Strategic Planning Process
We’re proud to end 2018 with a strong strategic plan that will guide our decision-making over the next five years. Through a process of discussions, community events and incredible cooperation, the plan was developed and will support our university as it continues to thrive for years to come.
CBU Launches Strategic Planning Process
Cape Breton University Strategic Plan

We Developed New Partnerships
CBU values cooperation and working together for the common good, so we’re proud of the MOU agreements and other partnerships that came together in 2018.
MOU With Kokugkuin University
Partnership With Chalo Canada
MOU With Assiniboine Community College
MOU With CBRM Transit
MOU With SIAS International University

Our Students Shared Their Stories
We love when our talented and hardworking students share their stories with the community. We’re so proud of everything they have accomplished in 2018 and can’t wait to see what they achieve next.
Pride & Ally Centre Coordinator: Zabrina Downton
B.Ed Student: Nadia Ross
Keptin of the Mi’kmaq Grand Council: Phillip Prosper
Students Employing Students: Daniel Reid
Women’s Centre Coordinator: Maria MacIntyre
Growing Together at CBU: Graham Marshall
Making the Most of University: Katelyn McPherson
From California to Cape Breton: Shanna Campbell
Fall Valedictorian: Michael Cadegan
Bachelor of Engineering Student: Jay Deshmukh
Seeing Double: BACS and Nursing Grad Natalie Forgeron
BBA Student: Alison Giovannetti
Psych Students Win National Award
An International Campus: Adam Le Hoan

Our CAPERS Soccer Teams Made AUS History
For the first time ever, both the Men’s and Women’s soccer teams from the same university won the AUS Championship in back-to-back years. We’ll be looking for the three-peat next season!
CAPERS Make AUS History

We Hosted Some Incredible Events
From Convocations and President’s Dinners to Chinese New Year, Diwali and so much more, campus was bustling with energy and activity all year long.
Spring Convocation
President’s Dinner Celebrates Class of 2018
Atlantiar Conference
President’s Leadership Dinner
Fall Convocation
Chinese New Year
The Biggest Diwali Celebration CB Has Ever Seen
Early Childhood Education Centre 20th Anniversary

Special Guests Came to Visit
Throughout the year, amazing guests from around the world were invited to campus.
Dr. Ramaswamy, Secretary of MCET
Chief Ovide Mercredi
Gwynne Dyer
Wanda Robson

Our Innovative Researchers Filled Us With Pride
Researchers at CBU have been doing groundbreaking work throughout the year, helping CBU become a global leader across various fields. We spent 2018 getting to know the unique and charismatic people behind all of that work!
Dr. Kevin McKague Named CRC in Social Enterprise and Inclusive Markets
Verschuren Centre Receives $1M in Research Funding
Dr. Bettina Callary Awarded Research Funding for Coaching
Dr. Heather Sparling Receives SSHRC Grant
CBU Named 2018 Inspired Educator for Sustainability Practices
Dr. Scott Rodney Awarded NSERC Discovery Grant
Rod Beresford: Oyster Industry Research
Dr. Martin Mkandawire Awarded NSERC Discovery Grant
Dr. Stephanie MacQuarrie Awarded NSERC Discovery Grant
Dr. Vielka Salazar Awarded NSERC Discovery Grant
Dr. Catherine Leviten-Reid Wins Gold Roof Award for Housing Research
Dr. Leigh Potvin Awarded SSHRC Funding
Dr. Catherine Leviten-Reid Awarded SSHRC Funding
Dr. Heather Sparling Renewed as CRC in Musical Traditions