President’s Award for Excellence in Research

The President’s Award for Excellence in Research is awarded annually to an outstanding CBU faculty member who has demonstrated leadership in research and scholarship.

Deadline: February, 2019

President’s Award of Excellence – Award Criteria and Nomination Procedure 


2018 – Dr. Stewart McCann, Professor of Psychology
Dr. Stewart McCann is a Professor of Psychology in the School of Science and Technology and has demonstrated a consistent and highly impressive record of research productivity throughout his career. Dr. McCann has co-edited three books and published over 60 peer-reviewed journal articles including publications in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, one of the most prestigious journals in his discipline. His co-edited books have sold over 10,000 copies, and his textbooks were required course readings at over 20 Canadian universities. Some of the most prominent scholars in psychology have publicly commended Dr. McCann’s expertise and sought his contributions for conferences and publications. The extensive, worldwide adoption of his research testifies to its breadth, depth, and influence. Dr. McCann is a widely recognized and highly respected researcher whose scholarly reputation attests to the quality and influence of his work. The attention given to his ideas outside of academia is exceptional and confirms the practical significance of his findings. His outstanding research coupled with his consistent support and mentorship for colleagues and students has and continue to enrich CBU’s research culture.

2017 – Dr. Edward Barre, Professor of Nutrition
Dr. Douglas Edward Barre is a Professor of Human Nutrition in the Department of Health Sciences and Emergency Management and is cross- appointed to Department of Chemistry. Dr. Barre has produced an exceptional body of work that significantly contributes to human nutrition and human health research, specifically to improving management and reducing the incidences of Type-2 Diabetes. Highly respected in his field, Dr. Barre regularly reviews manuscripts and grant applications for national and international publications and funding agencies. He has worked extensively with academics and healthcare professionals to transfer scholarly knowledge to practitioners and community members. His scholarship includes over 40 peer-reviewed article in journals of international reputation and has disseminated his research at national and international conferences. A successful independent and collaborative researcher, Dr. Barre has been described by his associates as a quiet achiever whose diligent pursuit of knowledge is coupled with a commitment to educating others.

2016 – Dr. Adango Miadonye, Professor of Chemistry
Dr. Adango Miadonye, Professor of Chemistry in the School of Science & Technology has received global recognition in the field of petroleum engineering and petroleum chemistry. His impressive publication record includes 50 peer-reviewed articles, numerous book chapters, and a number of presentations at important international conferences. An accomplished and respected student supervisor, Dr. Miadonye is extensively cited and has also formed the basis for a number of industrial collaborations. Well-respected by his colleagues nationally and internationally, Dr. Miadonye has been a leader and contributor to his professional academic community holding offices and serving on committees with numerous academic and professional societies.

2015 – Dr. Peter MacIntyre, Professor of Psychology
Dr. Peter MacIntyre, Professor of Psychology in the School of Science and Technology, is an internationally respected scholar with an extensive list of peer reviewed publications, published books and academic presentations. The outstanding quality of his research is well known and highly recognized in his field as evidenced by the thousands of citations of his work and the numerous invitations he receives to present his research locally, nationally and internationally. A leader and mentor, Dr. MacIntyre’s commitment to the construction of a scholarly research community at CBU and beyond is evident through his work with colleagues, students and community groups and organizations.

2014 – David Mullan, Professor of History
Dr. Mullan is a respected scholar whose award-winning research includes numerous books, edited collections, research articles and reviews. Throughout his career he has produced a body of work that is highly regarded by his peers regionally, nationally and internationally. Dr. Mullan has received funding from SSHRC for his work on Protestantism in early-modern Scotland. Most recently, he has improved his French to pursue his research on Protestantism in France.


2013 – Katherine Covell, Professor of Psychology
Dr. Katherine Covell is an internationally recognized leader in the field of children’s rights research. A professor of Psychology, Dr. Covell has authored books, academic articles, and information for the general public based on her research. She represents North America on the United Nations Advisory Council on Violence Against Children. Along with Dr. Brian Howe (professor of Political Science at CBU), she has worked with schools to promote rights-based education in the curriculum. She has also authored a popular online series on the rights of the child for SickKids hospital.

2012 – Richard MacKinnon, Professor of Folklore, Canada Research Chair in Intangible Cultural Heritage.
Dr. MacKinnon is the founding director of the Centre for Cape Breton Studies and editor of Material Culture Review.  He has supervised more that 40 undergraduate research assistants and has served on MA and PhD committees.  He is also recognized as a mentor within his department and school.