Nominations Open: Healthcare Awards of Distinction

Nominations for Cape Breton University’s 2024 Healthcare Awards of Distinction are now open and will close at 4:30pm on Wednesday, April 10, 2024. Committed to championing the Island’s prosperity by prioritizing strategic initiatives in key areas, Cape Breton University launched the Healthcare Awards of Distinction in 2022 to recognize and celebrate the many members of our healthcare community who give so freely of themselves to better the lives of others. 

The annual awards recognize the commitment and contributions of individuals in the medical community and honour their dedication and achievements in the field of healthcare. It is the goal of CBU to ensure these individuals’ dedication and achievements are seen and appreciated by all in the community.

“At CBU, we care about our community and more importantly, those living within it who work to make this Island a better place to live for all,” says David Dingwall, Cape Breton University President and Vice-Chancellor. “The recipients of these awards not only exemplify an unwavering commitment to providing the best possible healthcare to those on our Island, but also, the necessary depths of compassion, empathy and knowledge needed for this type of patient-centric care.”

There are five award categories for the Healthcare Awards of Distinction, each recognizing an individual who provides a unique and valued service to their community. The categories are Builder, Rural Engagement, Innovation, Champion and Leadership. Nominees can be anyone involved in the healthcare sector in some capacity, which includes, but is not limited to, physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, administrators and volunteers. 

Community members are invited to nominate a healthcare professional they feel embodies compassionate care and innovation. Nomination packages require a letter of nomination along with two letters of support. 

To learn more or nominate someone for this year’s Healthcare Awards of Distinction, please visit

The award celebration will be held on Wednesday, June 19, 2024.