New CBU Research Award to Honour Dr. Margaret Dechman

Cape Breton University will honour the late Dr. Margaret Dechman with a new research award bearing her name. The first annual ‘Margaret Dechman Community Engaged Research Champion Award’ has been added to the list of existing research awards at CBU. The new award honouring Dr. Dechman will be presented to a community-engaged scholar or community representative who demonstrates a commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion, working within meaningful community partnerships. This exemplifies Dr. Dechman’s passion for community-driven research to advocate for marginalized populations and social needs. Dr. Dechman was an associate professor of sociology and researcher at CBU who passed away in 2020.

CBU’s Senate Research Committee is now seeking nominations for this award, along with two internal awards focusing on research excellence and rising research within the CBU research community.

Dr. Éric Theriault chairs the Senate Research Committee that oversees the awards. He says it’s more important than ever to recognize the importance of research. “The research community at CBU has continued to engage in meaningful work across disciplines despite challenges over the past two years, much of it connected to community interests,” says Dr. Theriault. “The award honouring Dr. Dechman will add a new appreciation for the importance of community engagement in research.”

The call for nominations describes Dr. Dechman as an outstanding academic, community member and researcher. She was well-known as a champion for social justice, a tireless advocate for the socially excluded and a compassionate neighbour who recognized people’s humanity.

A unique feature of this award is that nominees may be members of community-based organizations, peer-driven advocacy organizations, research participants and champions. As well, nominees may include students and non-academic research practitioners.

The deadline for nominations for the Margaret Dechman Community Engaged Research Award is February 1, 2022. Complete nomination details are available here.