CBU recognizes contributions of the healthcare sector and establishes the Healthcare Award of Distinction

In recent years, the Covid-19 pandemic was challenging on all of us. None, more so, than the men and women in the healthcare sector. An already stressed system was overwhelmed and healthcare providers worked tirelessly to maintain and advocate for improved access to quality healthcare. These contributions have not gone unnoticed. And Cape Breton University (CBU) wants to thank and recognize all those in the healthcare sector and the work they do.

CBU committed to championing the Island’s prosperity as part of its strategic plan, and the health of our citizens and the healthcare system are crucial to that. To show its admiration and appreciation going forward, CBU also created the Healthcare Award of Distinction and selected the inaugural recipients who were honoured at a reception yesterday evening.

“CBU cares about our community and those that are working diligently to make Cape Breton a better, healthier place to live,” says David Dingwall, President and Vice-Chancellor. “The recipients of these awards exemplify this commitment to quality healthcare, blending highly specialized knowledge and technical skills with compassion and empathy, to provide patient-centered care.”

The inaugural recipients are Dr. Carlyle Chow, Baddeck; Dr. Kenneth Murray, Neil’s Harbour; Dr. Mahmood Naqvi, Sydney; Dr. Hilda Tremblett, North Sydney; and Dr. Peter Jackson, Sydney, posthumously.

The Healthcare Awards of Distinction recognize contributions to the medical community and dedication and achievements in the field of healthcare. The awards can be given for long-service, exemplary service, innovation or other significant contributions.

Early in the New Year, there will be a call for nominations for next year’s Healthcare Award of Distinction recipients. Anyone is eligible to submit a nomination.