CBU and NSHA Eastern Zone sign Memorandum of Understanding

President and Vice-Chancellor of Cape Breton University, David C. Dingwall; Executive Director, Operations for NSHA’s Eastern Zone, Brett MacDougall

Cape Breton University (CBU) and the Nova Scotia Health Authority Eastern Zone (NSHA) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to work together to advance their shared interest in the general health of the Cape Breton Island communities.

“CBU has had a long relationship with the Nova Scotia Health Authority Eastern Zone. Hospitals in Cape Breton have and continue to be practice partners, providing valuable learning experiences for our nursing students by exposing them to urban and rural nursing practices. This MOU signals a renewed relationship, allowing us to build on the good work of the past and helping us to realize our strategic direction to champion the Island’s prosperity,” says David C. Dingwall, President & Vice-Chancellor.

The MOU covers a number of areas of shared interest. This includes developing initiatives for possible solutions to projections of province-wide health profession human resource needs; reviewing CBU academic programming and potential partnerships with other academic institutions; exploring collaborative research opportunities coordinated through CBU’s Centre for Health, Wellness and Extended learning; and helping to advance recommendations in the recent review of CBU Health Services Report.

“Our focus is healthy people and healthy communities now and into the future,” said Brett MacDougall, executive director, operations for NSHA’s Eastern Zone. “With a community partner like CBU, we are able to work towards this by educating the next generation of nurses who will promote wellness and provide care in our communities and facilities. This partnership also opens the door to opportunities for health research and innovation. We have a strong partnership with CBU and we look forward to continuing that relationship.”

The MOU is effective immediately and expires in 2024.