Research and Teaching Awards

To the University community,

Amid the challenges and opportunities we’ve experienced over the past three years, we appreciate that we could not have achieved such unprecedented growth and success without the expertise, dedication, and collaborative pursuits of our educators and academic researchers. We also recognize, as we continue to see Cape Breton University’s ambitious plans for the future become reality, that our success is fundamentally tied to the commitment of CBU’s research and teaching community.

It is therefore with great honour that I take this moment to congratulate those who received CBU’s internal research and teaching awards from 2020-2022. This includes recognizing our esteemed colleague, the late Margaret Dechman, for significant contributions to CBU’s research enterprise and her legacy as an advocate for social justice and equality.

The recipients of these awards demonstrate a dedication to the scholarship of teaching and learning, a focus on academic research, engagement with community, and empowerment of students, allowing CBU to thrive as an environment of innovation, collaboration, and academic excellence.

Please join me in congratulating our research and teaching award honourees:

President’s Award for Research Excellence

Dr. Margaret Dechman

Dr. Martin Mkandawire


President’s Award for a Rising Researcher

Dr. Xu Zhang

Dr. Bettina Callary

Dr. Stephanie Gilbert

Dr. Pablo Santos-Iglesias


Margaret Dechman Community-Engaged Research Champion Award

Janet Bickerton


Instructional Leadership Award 

Dr. Jason Loxton

Dr. Geoffrey Lee-Dadswell

Dr. Rob Power


Distinguished Teaching Award

Dr. Ruby Ramji


Again, congratulations to all!

Yours very truly,

David C. Dingwall

President & Vice-Chancellor