The Dr. Mary Keating Medal Inaugural Winners

Cape Breton University is proud to announce the inaugural winners of the Dr. Mary Keating Medal, awarded to students who embody the highest standards of academic citizenship. This year’s recipients are:

Madeleine Ann McInnis – School of Arts and Social Sciences

Chloe Margaret Shunli Stewart – School of Education and Health

Shareeve Nevae Gould – School of Nursing 

Jada Amendez Gould – School of Nursing

Ameena Muhammed Thaslik – Shannon School of Business

Harrith Ikohojo Yahaya-Akor – School of Science and Technology

Throughout her distinguished Cape Breton University career of many decades, Dr. Mary Keating has made countless contributions to the field of academic integrity. 

CBU has always strived to foster a culture of academic integrity, as it is of the utmost importance in education. The Dr. Mary Keating Medal was created to recognize students who embody the highest standards of academic citizenship and to foster continued conversations about academic integrity within the institution. The Medal will be awarded annually  to one student from each of CBU’s schools. 

For a student to be eligible, they must be in good academic standing and enrolled in any program on a full-time or part-time basis at CBU. Students can be nominated as a group or individually. Each award will be based on the student’s demonstrated commitment to the values identified by CBU’s Charter of Academic Citizenship, in particular, originality, integrity and collegiality. 

These students will not only be receiving a medal for their tremendous efforts, but also a $1,000 monetary prize. 

The next nomination period for this award will open in the near future. To learn more about the award and the nomination process, please visit the Dr. Mary Keating Medal webpage.