Dingwall Strengthens Executive Committee at CBU Adds Four Senior Female Directors

The President & Vice-Chancellor of Cape Breton University, David C. Dingwall has added four senior female directors to his executive committee.
Dr. Beth Mason, Chief Executive Officer, Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment; Shauna Kelly, Chief of Staff, President’s Office; Rebecca Chisholm, Director, Marketing & Communications; and Paula MacNeil, Director, Development & Alumni Affairs, will each bring important perspectives to strategic decision making in support of the mission, vision and values of the University.
“By being innovative, we are going to advance Cape Breton University and all communities of Cape Breton Island,” says President Dingwall. “It is well-known that a primary driver of innovation is the diversity of perspectives. That is what I’ve added here. These four female directors will bring valuable insights, helping to create energetic discussions all leading to strategic action.”
 Mason is responsible for business development and strategic positioning, ensuring the Verschuren Centre delivers industry relevant research and development. The Verschuren Centre’s focus is to enhance local business sustainability and economic development through globally-oriented solutions and technology deployment.

Kelly provides leadership and direction in the areas of governance and management, internal and external relationships, and key projects under the President’s direction. Kelly joined CBU in 1997 as a member of the Extension and Community Affairs Department and has been working in the Office of the President since 2005.

Chisholm advises on matters of strategic communications, public relations and marketing and is responsible for projects, campaigns and initiatives in support of CBU’s recruitment and retention goals. She joined CBU in 2009 as a Recruitment Officer and has since held more progressively responsible positions in the areas of communications, public relations and marketing.

MacNeil manages and develops the institution’s capacity to fundraise and oversees the engagement of the University’s more than 20,000 alumni. Since 2015, the Development Office has held four major fundraising campaigns and supported the University in raising more than $40 million in government and private sector donations.

The Executive Committee also includes Gordon MacInnis, Vice-President, Finance & Operations; Dr. Dale Keefe, Vice-President, Academic & Provost; Stephen Augustine, Associate Vice-President, Indigenous Affairs & Unama’ki College; and Dr. Richard MacKinnon, Interim Vice-President, Academic & Provost.
For more information about CBU visit www.cbu.ca.