CBU Officially Installs David C. Dingwall as Seventh President

David Dingwall Installation stage party

Today, the Honourable David C. Dingwall was installed as the seventh President & Vice-Chancellor of Cape Breton University. In a ceremony officiated by Chancellor Annette Verschuren and witnessed by CBU’s Board of Governors, students, faculty, staff and visiting dignitaries, Mr. Dingwall was officially inaugurated.
“I envision a 21st century version of Cape Breton University that is true to what it has always been. I believe we can draw the blueprints of our future by focusing on our mandate and remembering why this university exists,” said President Dingwall. “Let us not be fearful to dream big and to have the courage to be strategic in purpose and to do so with energy and uncompromising resolve.”
In his first official address as President, Mr. Dingwall inspired the capacity crowd with a sharp focus on strengthening relationships with Indigenous communities, fostering and growing the strengths of Cape Breton University and accentuating the importance of strong relationships within Cape Breton Island. President Dingwall also spoke to the importance of expanding quality experiential learning opportunities and embracing innovation.
“I, along with my fellow Board colleagues, have full confidence that President Dingwall will lead our University in a manner that is true to the values of Cape Breton University, building on the strengths of CBU, and doing so through collaboration and partnerships, and with innovation,” said Robert Sampson, Chair, Cape Breton University Board of Governors.
Greetings were also offered on behalf of students, faculty, staff and alumni, delivering messages of great aspiration for the future under President Dingwall’s leadership.
President Dingwall has extensive private and public-sector experience, a proven ability to unite people for common goals and deep community roots in Cape Breton. He recognizes the significance of Cape Breton University as a regional driver of social, economic and cultural activity. His five-year term officially began on March 31, 2018.