CBU Awarded Two Prestigious Canada Research Chairs

Two Cape Breton University (CBU) researchers have recently been awarded prestigious Tier 2 Canada Research Chairs (CRC) by the Government of Canada.

Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon, Assistant Professor, History has been named a Tier 2 Canada CRC in Post-Industrial Communities and Dr. Bettina Callary, Associate Professor, Community Studies has been named a Tier 2 CRC in Sport Coaching and Adult Learning. Tier 2 Chairs are awarded to exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as demonstrating the potential to lead in their field.

Dr. MacKinnon’s work is specific to post-industrial communities, with a focus on deindustrialization, examining the multiple ways that local communities have responded to its pressures, and revealing the aftermaths still faced by those living in post-industrial regions. This research will position Cape Breton University at the centre of an unfolding international discussion.

“It’s great that CBU has decided to create a Chair in Post-Industrial Communities,” says Dr. MacKinnon. “I imagine the findings of this project will be of interest to legislators interested in creating policies that can respond to the emergent needs of deindustrializing and post-industrial cities and towns across Canada.”

Dr. Callary’s work focuses on two pillars of research broadly affecting the wellbeing and health of aging Canadians: coaching adult athletes, as well as coach education and development. Her groundbreaking research will be vital in understanding adults’ distinct psychological and social coaching needs.

“I am honoured to have received this award,” says Dr. Callary. “I’m very excited to translate my research into practice in the local area though collaboration with the community.”

The Canada Research Chairs program is at the centre of research in Canada, with the purpose of helping universities attract leading experts in the fields of engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences.

“It’s an honour for Cape Breton University to gain two more Canada Research Chairs,” says CBU President and Vice-Chancellor, David C. Dingwall. “These prestigious Chairs enhance the research happening here on campus and across the Island. The local and global impact of the work conducted by Dr. MacKinnon and Dr. Callary during their time as Canada Research Chairs will be extremely significant.”

Tier 2 Chairs are five years in length and can be renewed once. For each Tier 2 Chair, CBU will receive $100,000 annually for the work.

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport made the announcement on June 14 in Victoria, B.C. “Our government recognizes that when our institutions better reflect the diversity of Canada, science and research are stronger and their impacts on the lives of Canadians are more profound,” said Minister Duncan. “I am encouraged to see improved equity, diversity and inclusion among our Canada Research Chairs and look forward to seeing how their unique perspectives will help shape a better future for us all.”