We are proud to congratulate Chancellor Annette Verschuren on her induction to the Canadian Business Hall of Fame

On November 16, 2018, it was announced that Cape Breton University’s Chancellor and long-time friend and supporter, Annette Verschuren, will be inducted into the Canadian Business Hall of Fame. The Canadian Business Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of some of the country’s most distinguished business leaders.
Annette Verschuren was installed as Chancellor of Cape Breton University in 2004 and has supported and led capital campaigns, including the one which saw the creation of her namesake building, the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment.
Ms. Verschuren is currently the Chair and CEO of NRStor Inc., an energy storage development company. Formerly, she was president of The Home Depot Canada and Asia, overseeing the growth of the company’s Canadian operations from 19 to 179 stores between 1996 and 2011. She also led The Home Depot’s entry into China.
Currently, Ms. Verschuren is a board member of Liberty Mutual Insurance Group of Boston, Air Canada, Saputo, and Canadian Natural Resources Limited. In addition, Ms. Verschuren is a board member of CAMH Foundation and the Rideau Hall Foundation and the MaRS Discovery District. Additionally, Annette Verschuren sits on the federal government’s Science Technology and Innovation Council. She co-chairs the Smart Prosperity Initiative, which is mapping out a course to a stronger, cleaner economy for Canada.
In 2016, Ms. Verschuren authored a business book entitled “Bet On Me,” leading and succeeding in business and in life, published by Harper Collins.
Annette Verschuren will join the ranks of Sir Adam Beck, K.C. Irving and Annette’s lifelong friend and business mentor, the late Purdy Crawford, along with fellow Cape Bretoner and CBU supporter, Mr. Joe Shannon, as a Companion to the Canadian Business Hall of Fame.
The Canadian Business Hall of Fame was established by JA Canada in 1979 to honour Canada’s pre-eminent business leaders for their professional and philanthropic achievements. Companions are nominated by their peers and are chosen by an independent selection committee.