Predecessor Institutions

Did you know that our Alumni family consists of four other former institutions?

Cape Breton University’s story begins as Xavier Junior College, founded in 1951 under St. Francis Xavier University, as a satellite campus to handle the rapid population growth in Industrial Cape Breton. In 1968, the Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology (NSEIT) opened with a focus on technology and trades.

The College of Cape Breton (CCB) was established on June 28, 1974, combining the Sydney Campus of St. F.X (Xavier College) and NSEIT into a single post-secondary institution.

CCB became the University College of Cape Breton (UCCB) – the first university college of its kind in Canada – in June 1982, a change that enabled the institution to grant university degrees while continuing to offer diploma programs.

Over the next two decades, the institution underwent a transformation and its primary focus shifted to university level education. In recognition of this change, UCCB was officially renamed Cape Breton University in May 2005 via the Cape Breton University Act.

In 70 years, we have progressed and developed into one of Canada’s most ambitious and innovative universities.

We love all the ways our Alumni family is diverse! If you are a graduate of one of these institutions, we want to talk to you!

Email or call 902-578-2482