Distinguished Teaching Award

The Cape Breton University (CBU) Alumni Association’s Distinguished Teaching Award is administrated by the CBU Alumni Association. The award is presented each spring. Details for how the award will be announced are in development.


Nominees must be full-time members of the CBU teaching faculty and staff, with an assignment commensurate with their appointment (NSGEU vs. CBUFA; Schedule B, research-active vs. inactive, etc.). This includes full-time, continuing, lab instructors, but not Deans or those currently at higher levels of Administration.


This award recognizes excellence in university teaching over a number of years, primarily at the undergraduate level.

An individual nominated for this award will be characterized by a proven commitment to enhanced student engagement and learning, a reflective and intentional approach to teaching practices, and dedication to teaching improvement. The following list, which aligns with the criteria for the regional AAU Distinguished Teaching Award, reflects ten significant criteria of distinguished teaching:

  • demonstrates knowledge of the teaching and learning process;
  • demonstrates the capacity to arouse learner interest in the subject;
  • prepares and organizes thoroughly for classes, labs, or tutorials;
  • develops and communicates clearly student learning outcomes, course requirements and pathways to success;
  • challenges students to achieve learning outcomes and to develop critical thinking and problem solving abilities;
  • develops rapport with learners;
  • uses approaches to teaching and evaluation of learning that respect diverse student learning needs;
  • uses assessment methods that are aligned with learning outcomes and instructional approaches;
  • encourages student participation in the learning process; and
  • demonstrates reflective teaching, for example by:
    • engaging in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning and using research to adapt and develop teaching practice and inform course development
    • sharing good practice with others through workshops, presentations, or publications on teaching and learning, or
    • participating in professional development activities to enhance teaching practice.

Nomination Process

CBU Alumni, students and faculty/staff are encouraged to submit nominations. Complete the nomination form (see below).

Subsequent to the Alumni Office receiving a nomination, the nomination will be acknowledged (via email reply) and the Alumni Office will then contact the nominee directly to initiate the formal dossier process. This process will be done in confidence, not identifying the nominators to the nominee.

Nominees are then responsible to provide the following documentation as their award nomination dossier.

  • An abbreviated CV (maximum 5 pages) that highlights the nominees achievements in teaching and learning, such as course development, instructional strategies, workshop presentations or publishing on teaching and learning;
  • A Teaching Philosophy (1-2 pages), which is signed and dated by the nominee;
  • Evidence of Excellence in Teaching (how they implement their teaching philosophy, which may include course syllabi, learning activities developed, assessment strategies used);
  • A selection of standard student course evaluations (at a minimum, evaluations from 5 courses, taught over the past 3 years, which represent teaching across a variety of levels);
  • A letter of support from the relevant Dean or Department Chair, designating the nominee’s major strengths as a teacher.

All material provided will be held in the strictest confidence by the Alumni Association and its selection committee, and will be destroyed when the adjudication process is complete.

Any nomination will receive consideration for two years.

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee for this award, appointed by the Alumni Association Board of Directors on a yearly basis, will be comprised of 6 individuals:

  1. Two alumni members designated by the Association.
  2. One current CBU student
  3. The Centre for Teaching and Learning.
  4. One previous winner of the AAU Distinguished Teacher award or a 3M National Teaching Fellowship.

None of the committee members may have been a nominator for this award in the current year. The Alumni Association Officer is not a member of the selection committee, but facilitates the nomination and selection process. In the event there is a tie, the Alumni Association President will cast a deciding vote; however, more than one recipient may be deemed the award winner in any given year.



** Please include all your support material in one document when uploading***

Alumni Distinguished Teaching Award 2021

Nominator's Name(Required)
Nominator's Address(Required)
Nominee's Name(Required)
Nominee's Address
Max. file size: 50 MB.
I consent to be contacted according to the Terms & Conditions outlined here: https://www.cbu.ca/privacy-policy/communicating-with-you/(Required)

Previous Recipients

2019: Kate Krug

2018: Dr. Tim Rawlings

2017: Dr. Stephanie MacQuarrie

2016: Dr. Andrew Parnaby

2015: Dr. Allen Britten

2014: Dr. Robert Campbell

2013: Dr. David Johnson

2012: Joanne Pyke

2011: Dr. Andrew Parnaby

2010: Dr. James Guy

2009: Dr. Dale Keefe

2008: Edwin MacLellan

2007: Dr. David McCorquodale

2006: Pam Seville

2005: Alex Pierce

2004: Dr. Harvey Johnstone

2003: Brian Tennyson

2002: Dr. Brian Howe

2001: Dr. Katherine Covell

2000: Dr. Cheryl Bartlett

1999: Dr. Peter McIntyre