CBU’s Historical Timeline

View Interactive Timeline



Our story begins as Xavier Junior College (XJC, later Xavier College) under St. Francis Xavier University (StFX) as a satellite campus to handle the rapid population growth in Industrial Cape Breton.


The Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology (NSEIT) opened on the Sydney-Glace Bay Highway, immediately east of Sydney.

June 28, 1974

The College of Cape Breton (CCB) was established, combining the Sydney Campus of StFX (Xavier College) and NSEIT into a single post-secondary institution under an autonomous Board of Governors.

June 1982

CCB became the University College of Cape Breton (UCCB) – the first university college of its kind in Canada – when it was granted university status.

February 25, 2005

UCCB was renamed to Cape Breton University (CBU).


CBU celebrates its 50th anniversary as an  independent post-secondary institution with an autonomous Board of Governors.