Senate Minutes

May 16, 2025 CE339

The Chair, F. Odartey-Wellington, called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

1. Roll Call and Declaration of Quorum and Land Acknowledgement

The Chair began with the acknowledgement that Cape Breton University is located in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People. This territory is covered by the "Treaties of Peace and Friendship" which Mi'kmaq and Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) people first signed with the British Crown in 1726. The treaties did not deal with surrender of lands and resources but in fact recognized Mi'kmaq and Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) title and established the rules for what was to be an ongoing relationship between nations.

Present:

Harsimran Kaur Antaal, Catherine Arseneau, Sahand Ashtab, Matthias Bierenstiel, Tammy Bernasky, Tanya Brann-Barrett, Karen Butterworth, Paula Condon, Geoff Carre, Martin Chandler, Kylie Ewing, Virginia Gunn, Michael Henick, Ali Heydari, Chad Hillier, Harkanwal Kaur, Carrie Karsgaard, Kimberley Lamarche, Tracy Lillington, Emily MacLeod, Stephanie MacQuarrie, Bishakha Mazumdar, John Mayich, John Nadeau, Kathleen Nash, Rod Nicholls, Felix Odartey-Wellington, Joe Parish, Andy Parnaby, Michelle Prendergast, Karen Rowe, Nancy Samson, Rebecca Seymore, Nancy Spina, Éric Thériault, Jamie Tunnicliff, Bilynda Whiting

Regrets:

Melissa Bishop, Sean Campbell, Linda Cavanaugh, David Dingwall, Ayse Ersoy, Janet Kuhnke, Doug Lionais, Ellyn Lyle, Terry MacDonald, Gordon MacInnis, John Mayich, Marcia Ostashewski, Ann Sylliboy, Laurianne Sylvester

Dr. F. Odartey-Wellington acknowledged the passing of Dr. Scott Moir, Associate Professor of History at Cape Breton University. On behalf of Senate, he extended heartfelt condolences to Dr. Moir's family, colleagues, and students. A moment of silence was observed in his memory.

2. <u>Matters to be Considered in Closed Session/Confidential Business</u>

Motion:

Moved by J. Nadeau, seconded by J. Parish, to move into Closed Session for the purpose of approval of the graduation list.

Motion Carried.

Motion:

Moved by T. Brann Barrett, seconded by C. Arseneau to move into open session. **Motion Carried.**

3. **Quality Assurance Committee**

3.1 Approval of the Quality Assurance Framework

S. Ashtab introduced the Cape Breton University Quality Assurance Framework including the proposed revisions and additions which are outlined in the Senate Meeting Package.

Motion:

Moved by S. Ashtab, seconded by J. Nadeau, that Senate approve the Cape Breton University Quality Assurance Framework.

Motion Carried.

8. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:58 p.m.

É. Thériault Secretary to Senate