Cape Breton University Board of Governors Special Public Meeting

Monday, January 31, 2018 Following Prologue CE-339

1. Roll Call

Present:

Mr. Robert Sampson (Chair), Mr. Mark Shannon (via teleconference), Mr. Gordon MacInnis (Treasurer/Secretary), Dr. Richard MacKinnon, Mr. Pat Bates, Mr. Carol Beaton, Ms. Millie Colbourne, Dr. Ed Davis, Ms. Brooklyn Galbraith, Mr. Jordan Gracie, Mr. Dannie Hanson, Dr. Stephanie Inglis, Mr. Terry Kelly, Mr. Brian LeBlanc, Mr. Clayton Locke, Mr. Keith MacDonald, Ms. Katelyn McPherson, Ms. Tara Milburn, Dr. Andrew Molloy, Mr. Steve Parsons, Mr. Darryl Poirier, Mr. Michael Sandalis (via teleconference), Ms. Eleanor Sidley, Ms. Ann Sylliboy (via teleconference), Ms. Wendy Wadden, Mr. Howard Windsor (via teleconference)

Regrets:

Dr. Dale Keefe (Interim President), Dr. Ann Francis D'Intino, Ms. Carol Ripley

The Chair declared quorum and called the meeting to order.

2. Report of the Presidential Search Committee

Mr. Robert Sampson reported, as Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, reported that the Committee has concluded its deliberations and are prepared to make a unanimous recommendation to the Board for the next President of Cape Breton University. Prior to this meeting, during an *in camera* session, members discussed, in full, the recommendation being presented and highlighted items of the contract for the individual.

Mr. Sampson provided an overview of Committee, their mandate, and the complete overview of the search process. Assisting the Committee was Ms. Colleen Keenan of the executive search firm, Odgers Berndtson. After receiving almost twenty applicants, which was narrowed to six to be interviewed, and again shortened for a second interview, the Committee recommended David C. Dingwall as the next President of Cape Breton University.

It was moved by Dr. Molloy, seconded by Ms. Sidley, to accept the recommendation of the Presidential Search Committee to appoint The Honourable David C. Dingwall as President and Vice Chancellor of Cape Breton University, subject to finalization of the contract approved by the Board. **Motion carried unanimously.**

With respect to finalizing the contract, it was moved, by Mr. Kelly, seconded by Ms. Wadden, that the CBU Board of Governors authorize its Executive Committee to finalize the contract with President Dingwall in accordance with the overview of the proposed contractual terms provided by the Board of Governors during the Prologue session held on January 31, 2018. Motion carried. Abstentions: 1

On behalf of the Board, Mr. Sampson expressed sincere thanks to Dr. Dale Keefe for assuming the Interim President role during this process. Appreciation was also extended to both Dr. Richard MacKinnon and Mr. Gordon MacInnis.

On behalf of the Board, Mr. Sampson then welcomed The Honourable David C. Dingwall as the next President of Cape Breton University. Incoming President Dingwall thanked the Board for their vote of confidence and noted he was very humbled and honoured to accept the opportunity to lead the institution and guide the agenda forward for Cape Breton University. He too, expressed many thanks to Dr. Dale Keefe for his exemplary guidance during a difficult time for Cape Breton University.

3. Motion to Adjourn

It was moved by Ms. Wadden to adjourn at 12:45 pm. Motion carried.

Mr. Gordon MacInnis, Secretary to the Board