Cooperative Study Club

Connecting with the community

CBU knows the importance of collaborating with the community. Some of our most vigorous working partnerships are formed locally.Our research benefits greatly from strong, productive links between the university and the community. These partnerships allow our researchers to create knowledge by tapping into resources that can only be accessed through strong, trusted bonds with community members and groups.

Visit Cape Breton University’s Cooperative Study Club and you’ll find a collaborative place for creative discussion, knowledge building and meeting new people.

We’re always working on new programming including:

• experiential and interactive learning
• exhibits
• presentations
• free school and extension courses
• community-driven research
• reference services
• communal work hubs
• civic engagement

Highlighting research relevance

Funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and Cape Breton University, the Cooperative Study Club also benefits our researchers by giving them the chance to share their work in the community with a greater sense of pragmatism and immediacy.

Past events have included:

• art-making cafes
• repair cafes
• Children’s University in the Community
• National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)
• Cape Breton Naturalists’ Society meet-ups

Looking for more information? Contact us at

You can also like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Tanya Brann-Barrett
Dean of Research, Teaching & Graduate Studies and Associate Professor of Communication

Office: B212

Phone: 902.563.1843

Brenda Leloup
Assistant to the Dean

Office: B212

Phone: 902.563.1304

Sarah Conrod
Manager, Industry Partnerships & Research Commercialization

Office: B254

Phone: 902.563.1842

Dana Mount
Assistant Dean of Research, Teaching & Graduate Studies and Assistant Professor of English

Office: B212

Phone: 902.563.1338

Zuzana Istvankova
Research Administration Officer, Major Initiatives

Office: B212

Phone: 902.563.1832

Nicole MacDougall
Research Administration Officer, Facilitation and Outreach

Office: B212

Phone: 902.563.1107