Press Releases

CBU Celebrates Faculty with Recognition Dinner

Cape Breton University hosted the second annual President’s Academy Recognition Dinner on Monday, April 20, 2015. Held at the Verschuren Centre on the CBU campus, the event served to recognize the outstanding merits and contributions of the CBU faculty.

Dr. Dale Keefe, Vice President Academic (Provost) hosted the event and notes, “The calibre of the faculty at CBU is absolutely world-class. It’s important to recognize the significant contributions that this dedicated group makes to CBU, to research and especially in the lives of the students that they teach.”

Awards were presented in the following categories:
CBU Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award –  Dr. Allen Britten
CBU Instructional Leadership Award – Dr. Matthias Bierenstiel and Dr. Bettina Callary
CBU Exceptional Lab/Clinical Instructor Award – Dr. Shimal Fernandopulle
Charles MacDonald Award for Exceptional Service to the Academy Award – George Karaphillis
President’s Award for Excellence in Research – Dr. Peter MacIntyre
CBU Lifetime Achievement Award –Dr. Edwin MacLellan