June 2013

CBU Researchers Bring Educational Science Fun to K-6 Classrooms

Receive NSERC Award in the Amount of $45,000 Cape Breton University (CBU) faculty researchers have been awarded $45,000 from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) for their innovative three-year project that will enhance science curriculum in K-6 classrooms in Cape Breton. Dr. Katherine Jones, Associate Professor of Biology, Dr. Matthias Bierenstiel, Associate Professor More »

Another Successful Year of the Business Network for Aboriginal Youth

The second year of the Business Network for Aboriginal Youth came to a close last month with a celebration to recognize the hard work of the program’s 26 Aboriginal youth participants. The Business Network for Aboriginal Youth is an initiative being led by the Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Studies, Dr. Keith Brown, and his More »

CBU Applauds Canadian Healthcare Association Distinguished Health Leadership Award to Dr. Ron Stewart

Ron Stewart’s roots in Cape Breton have brought him home to lead MedLink, a joint initiative of Cape Breton University, Dalhousie University and the Cape Breton District Health Authority. The brainchild of Dr. Stewart, who is adjunct professor with CBU, this collaborative effort pursues enhanced coordination and post-secondary health education and training availability in Cape More »

CBU Students Recognized with National Scholarships

Four Cape Breton University (CBU) students have been awarded Social Sciences and the Humanities Council (SSHRC) Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Master’s Scholarships in the amount of $17,500 each. Allison Boudreau, Roman Katnelson, Amy MacDonald and Megan MacDonald will use the SSHRC Scholarships to further their research interests while studying in master’s programs next year. Both More »

CBU Receives CFI Award for New Media Lab

A Media Interpretation and Reception Lab (MIRLab) that will allow researchers to study how people interact with media will soon have a home at Cape Breton University (CBU). Dr. Ian Brodie, Associate Professor of Folklore and Dr. Rubina Ramji, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies, have been awarded $111,310 from the Canada Foundation for More »