Denis Ryan Joins Shannon School of Business Advisory Board

Cape Breton University is pleased to announce the appointment of Denis Ryan to the Shannon School of Business (SSOB) Advisory Board. Ryan joins a group of highly-respected and accomplished business leaders who, led by Joe Shannon, have helped guide the SSOB into a learning environment that supports and prepares students to be accountable and innovative business professionals capable of entering the globally-connected business world. 

Originally from Newport, County Tipperary, Ireland, in 1969, Ryan immigrated to Toronto, Ont. In 1970, Ryan formed the critically acclaimed musical group, Ryan’s Fancy. His musical career has spanned more than forty years. He has performed all over the world, appearing in over two hundred television shows in both Ireland and Canada and he has recorded thirteen albums. Following the disbandment of Ryan Fancy in 1983, Ryan entered and remained in the intensely competitive investment banking sector, building on an already impressive portfolio.

Mirroring the vision of both CBU and the Shannon School of Business – to be community minded – Ryan is involved with numerous community projects including serving as the national chairman of the fundraising committee of the D'Arcy McGee Chair of Irish Studies at St. Mary’s University and as Governor of Saint Francis Xavier University.  In addition, he is the founder of Nova Scotian Crystal, Canada’s only mouth-blown, hand-cut crystal manufacturer.

Ryan’s background as a musician, historian and businessman will be of added value to the SSOB Advisory Board, complementing and enhancing the strengths of current board members.  He has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Folklore from Memorial University and an Honorary Doctor of Letters from Saint Mary’s University.

“As a successful investment banker, entrepreneur and internationally acclaimed musician, Denis will bring a unique perspective to the Shannon Advisory Board. He is no stranger to supporting and advocating for post-secondary institutions and will be an asset to Cape Breton University and its business school,” says Shannon.

The Shannon School of Business Advisory Board is comprised of dedicated board members including Chair, Mr. Joe Shannon, Mr. Purdy Crawford, Sir Graham Day, Mr. Meredith (Sam) Hayes, The Honourable Kevin G. Lynch, Mr. Louis J. Maroun, The Honourable A. Anne McLellan, Mr. John T. McLennan, Ms. Susan Murray, Chief Terrance Paul and Mr. Harold Schwartz.

For more information visit