CBU’s Meshack Lufile named AUS Defensive Player of the Year

meshackAtlantic University Sport (AUS) has announce the 2015-16 AUS men’s basketball all-stars and major award winners as selected by the conference’s eight head coaches following regular season play and CBU’s Meshack Lufile of Burlington, Ont. was named defensive player of the year.

A 6-foot-8 fifth-year player, Lufile was second in the AUS in blocks this season, posting 29. He averaged nine rebounds per game, which included 5.5 defensive rebounds per game.

“We are privileged to be able to attracted some of the best student athletes within the AUS and CIS to Cape Breton University,” says John Ryan, Director of Athletics. “Annually, we see a number of our students athletes recognized both regionally and nationally for their outstanding accomplishments in their chosen sport. I take great pride in seeing our students excel both in the classroom and on their field of play.”

In addition to his defensive prowess, Meshack’s field goal percentage of 67.7 was the best in the nation. He averaged 16.2 points per game this season for the Capers.

Lufile now becomes the AUS conference nominee for the CIS defensive player of the year award.

“As a fifth year player, Meshack was a leader for us on and off the floor,” says Matt Skinn, Head Men’s Basketball Coach. “He had a great second half of the season, and made sure that the team, and himself, finished off his fifth year on a high note. The program is extremely proud of Meshack for his accomplishments on the court, but he is an even better person!”

On his recognition, Meshack adds “This was something I didn’t expect for sure! It’s such an honour to have my talents be recognized in this conference. I take great pride in my defence, because defence wins championships! Whether it’s getting a rebound, getting a stop, blocking a shot or a simple box out, these things are winning plays and help a team become successful.”

CBU’s Phil Nkrumah and StFX’s Garry Gallimore are the only AUS players to have been named CIS defensive player of the year since the inception of the award in 2004-05.