CBU Professor Named to Science Atlantic Hall of Fame

CBU Chemistry professor and Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, Dr. C. Dale Keefe has been inducted into the Hall of Fame for Science Atlantic (formerly APICS) as an outstanding member for chemistry.

For more than 15 years, Dr. Keefe has been active in supporting Science Atlantic and promoting both science research and chemistry research in particular.

Since the beginning of his academic career at CBU in 1996, Dr. Keefe has worked to successfully establish a physical chemistry research program obtaining a Tier II Canada Research Chair position in Molecular Spectroscopy. Over the past 15 years, Dr. Keefe has supervised numerous undergraduate students and provided them with hands-on research opportunities. Many of his students have gone on to develop successful careers through continuation of professional schools, graduate studies and employment in the private and public sectors.

The promotion of research, in addition to his APICS committee and council membership, is also demonstrated in the active roles in growing the chemistry degree at CBU from a 2-year transfer program to a full established and Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) accredited BSc (Chem) 4-year degree program in 2007. It is an understatement to say that Dr. Keefe has been active in program and course development while at CBU. The CBU chemistry degrees received high praise from the CSC accreditation team on the extraordinary emphasis on research activities for chemistry students.

Dr. Keefe’s efforts have not gone unnoticed by CBU as he was awarded both teaching awards in 2009, a first in CBU history. Dr. Keefe received the CBU Leadership Teaching Award and the CBU Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching for his activities in promoting teaching in and outside of the classroom.

“Dr. Keefe has also been appointed to the Science Atlantic working group on research inventory – again showing his continual dedication to promoting research within and beyond the umbrella of Science Atlantic,” says Dr. Matthias Bierenstiel, Associate Professor for Inorganic Chemistry, CBU.