CBU Multiversity Celebrates First Gala

It was an evening that showcased the best of Cape Breton, the best of the world and the best of Cape Breton University (CBU).  On March 21, joined by nearly 800 people, CBU celebrated its first Multiversity Gala. Emceed by CBC Information Morning Host, Steve Sutherland, the evening put Cape Breton’s growing multicultural community centre stage, providing an opportunity for cultural exchange and celebration between communities.

The evening was defined by student and community led entertainment that was culturally authentic and unforgettably beautiful.   Guests were treated to an array of performances that included an Aboriginal Welcome Song, a Square Dance Set, a Saudi Arabian Dance, Chinese Dragon Dance and more dances from around the world. 

Although this was the first year for the Multiversity Gala, the event was built on the successful International Students Banquet that was held at CBU for many years. Keeping with the spirit of the banquet, several awards were handed out during the evening.

And the Award Goes to…

The Tapiwa Gate Memorial Essay Contest

This essay award is presented annually in memory of Tapiwa Gate of Zimbabwe, who was registered at Cape Breton University as a Bachelor of Business Administration student in 2005. Shortly after his arrival in Cape Breton, Tapiwa became ill and lost his battle at the very young age of 22. Tapiwa was here for just a short time, though he made a huge impact on the CBU community.

  • First Place: Shan Sun (Sunshine)
  • Second Place: Louisa Esangbedo
  • Third Place: Rynelle Oliver

The Elaine Delaney Memorial Student Advisor Award

This award is presented in memory of Elaine Delaney, a cherished member of the CBU family. Elaine was the first International Student Advisor at Cape Breton University.  The Award goes to an international student who has demonstrated interest in campus life by participating in activities put on by Student Services and other student-based groups on the CBU campus.

  • Moses Mallam

The Patrick Johnson Aboriginal Leadership Award

Patrick Johnson was instrumental in creating the Mi’Kmaw College Institute (now Unama’ki College). This award acknowledges all that Patrick has done for our institution by honouring an Aboriginal Student for his/her leadership at Cape Breton University.

  • Velvet Paul

The Multiversity Appreciation Award

This award goes to a student and a staff/faculty member who have gone above and beyond to embody and promote multiculturalism at Cape Breton University.

  • Student Award: Louisa Esangbedo
  • Staff Award: Debbie MacInnis

To see more of the celebration follow @CBUMultiversity or search #MultiversityGala2015.