CBU Alumni Association’s Award Night Winners

On Wednesday, September 29, Cape Breton University celebrated the accomplishments of four distinguished alumni at the CBU Alumni Association’s Awards Gala, held for the first time at the university’s campus.

“The Alumni Awards were established to give Cape Breton University the opportunity to celebrate our accomplished alumni. This year’s winners are four exceptional individuals who are making a difference in the lives of others and the community, and we are proud of their achievements and appreciate their deep commitment to CBU,” said Keith MacDonald, President of the CBU Alumni Association. “They exemplify all that we aspire for our students – the skills, knowledge and attitude to succeed – and the character, wisdom and responsibility to contribute to our community.”

The evening honoured Mark Sparrow as Young Alumnus of the Year; Marlene Usher as Alumna of the Year; Kirk MacRae as Friend of Cape Breton University; and George Unsworth with the CBU Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2010 Alumni Awards Gala was generously supported by presenting sponsor Johnson’s Insurance and award sponsors VMP Group, Cape Breton Partnership, and Cape Breton University Athletics.