CBU Alumni Association Recognizes Outstanding Achievements

 On Thursday, October 13, the Cape Breton University Alumni Association celebrated the accomplishments of four distinguished individuals at the 2011 Alumni Awards Gala at Cape Breton University. 

“Each year, the CBU Alumni Association’s Alumni Awards Gala gives the Association and the university the opportunity to celebrate our accomplished alumni. This year’s winners are four exceptional individuals who are making a difference in the lives of others and the community, and we are proud of their achievements and appreciate their deep commitment to CBU,” said Derrick Hayes, President of the CBU Alumni Association.   “They exemplify all that we aspire for our students – the skills, knowledge and attitude to succeed – and the character, wisdom and responsibility to contribute to our community.”

The evening honoured Mr. Scott Thomas as Young Alumnus of the Year; Mr. Robert Redshaw as Alumnus of the Year; Dr. Carl “Bucky” Buchanan as Friend of Cape Breton University; and Mr. David Dingwall with the CBU Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2011 Alumni Awards Gala was generously supported by presenting sponsor Johnson Insurance and award sponsors Cape Breton University Students’ Union, Cape Breton Partnership and Cape Breton University Athletics.

Nominations for next year’s event can be submitted online at www.cbu.ca/alumnior by contacting the Alumni Office at 563-1199.