CBU Alumni Association Celebrates Some of Its Finest

Each year, the Cape Breton University (CBU) Alumni Association comes together to celebrate the personal and professional successes of its outstanding alumni. This evening, the Association is hosting the 3rd Annual CBU Alumni Awards Gala and Dinner at the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment. The event will recognize the achievements of alumni in the following award categories: Alumnus/Alumna of the Year, Young Alumnus/Alumna of the Year, Cape Breton University Alumni Lifetime Achievement and Friend of Cape Breton University.

Alumni Awards 2012
Mary Beth Doucette, recipient of the Young Alumna of the Year award, holds a Master of Business Administration in Community Economic Development from CBU. She is currently the director of quality assurance with Membertou Band Council and the associate chair of the Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Business Studies. Doucette is a fine example of a person who has contributed significantly to the growth and development of Cape Breton University, graduating at the top of her class and acting as an invaluable asset to the community.  

Gavin Uhma and Kirk MacPhee, joint recipients of the Alumni of the Year award, are two of the innovative minds behind Golnstant. Together, they worked with Innovacorp to fulfill significant entrepreneurial achievement and currently represent the most successful and valuable exit of an ICT start-up in Nova Scotia’s history. Both MacPhee and Uhma are CBU graduates from the Bachelor of Technology Information program, and have clearly made an outstanding contribution to their profession and field of study. 

Dr. H. John Harker, recipient of the Cape Breton University Lifetime Achievement award, was appointed as Cape Breton University’s fifth president in June 2003. Recognized for his outstanding commitment to international peace building, Harker also serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of LearnCorp International Limited.  He has served as past Chair of the Council of Nova Scotia University Presidents and as a Member of the Executive Committee of the National Research Council. Under President Harker’s leadership, Cape Breton University has transformed to meet the needs of a changing student body and growing campus community. Under his leadership much has been accomplished in the areas of energy and environmental sustainability, Aboriginal post-secondary education and internationalization. With an astounding resume that demonstrates a lifetime of hard work and achievements, President Harker is a leading example for CBU’s future alumni. Harker is being named an honorary member of the CBU Alumni family during 2012 Annual General Meeting taking place prior to the awards gala. 

The Shannon School of Business Advisory Board, recipient of the Friend of Cape Breton University award, is recognized for their outstanding contribution and key involvement in the Shannon School of Business Cornerstone Campaign. The campaign was led by the advisory board, ultimately achieving their financial goal fully by donations of private monetary contributions. The product of this campaign is now the new Shannon School of Business building, located at the forefront of Cape Breton University’s campus. This building houses CBU’s business faculty, as well as state-of-the-art study rooms, theatres, classrooms and technology.

“These award recipients are second to none and exemplify all that we want our members to become. Our alumni have and continue to bring recognition to Cape Breton University, and make lasting impacts on their professions and home communities,” says Derrick Hayes, President, Cape Breton University Alumni Association.

The Cape Breton University Alumni Association has a membership of more than 17,000 with members residing in close to 80 countries. For more information visit www.cbu.ca/alumni.