CBU BEd Students Awarded Provincial Scholarships

Two CBU BEd students were named recipients of provincial scholarships awarded by the Board of Directors of the Nova Scotia Teachers College Foundation.

Elizabeth Baird was selected as one of this year’s recipients of the Henry Button Memorial Scholarship.  The Henry Button Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students for English Language Arts education.  Henry Button was an outstanding Canadian and benefactor of education in Nova Scotia.  He was the president of World Affairs Press Limited.

Therese Djob was chosen as one of this year’s recipients of the DeWolfe/Fortune Memorial Scholarship.  The DeWolfe/Fortune Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students in math/science education. Dr. Loran Arthur Wolfe had a career of 70 years in public education as a teacher, a professor at the Nova Scotia Normal College and a director of rural education in Nova Scotia.  Edgar Fortune of Sydney was the Field Representative for Cape Breton for the Nova Scotia Division of Adult Education.

“I feel very honored and privileged to have received the DeWolfe/Fortune Memorial Scholarship,” says Therese Djob. “I am so grateful for my scholarships. Receiving this award has also given me the motivation to do well in the future because my hard work is being acknowledged and the money will help me to pay my tuition fees.”

The Nova Scotia Teachers College Foundation was established by an Act of the Nova Scotia Legislature to administer the scholarships and awards of the former Nova Scotia Teachers College.  For 143 years the College prepared teachers for the province’s schools.  Many people donated to the scholarship and award funds of the Teachers College to assist student teachers.  The Nova Scotia Teachers College Foundation, through its awards, is helping to preserve the memory of the College and honour some of those who contributed to its success.