Fall 2022 Award Winners

Congratulations to our Fall 2022 Award Winners!

The Ian Burrows Memorial Award

Presented to a student who is dedicated and committed to the nursing profession, and who, like Ian, exhibits strength and determination.

  • Leah MacNeil

The Sara J. Smith Nursing Scholarship

Presented to a graduating BScN student who demonstrates professionalism, perseverance, strong work ethic and a commitment to the nursing profession.

  • Martin Gouthro

The Terrilyn Tomiczek Memorial Award

Presented to a parent who, within the program, has overcome challenges and who exemplifies traits similar to Terrilyn.

  • Chantal Leblanc

The Emma van Nostrand Memorial Award

Presented to a current nursing student who continues to succeed in the nursing program despite hardships and/or life adversities.

  • Kelsey Gillis

Laura MacKinnon Award for Nursing Leadership

Presented to a BScN student in the final year who has completed at least one practicum, maintains a high average throughout their studies and demonstrates commitment to professional and patient care during their practical training. Based on recommendations by CBU Nursing Faculty.

  • Cliff Joseph Candelaria

Cape Breton University Silver Medals for Academic Achievement on Courses Listed for Degree

  • Jillian Polegato, Bachelor of Education
  • Kelsey Prosser, Bachelor of Science, Nursing