Teaching Chairs Program



Cape Breton University’s Centre for Teaching & Learning is launching a University Teaching Chairs program. For this first call we seek TWO Chairs in the following areas:

  • Teaching Chair in Open, Online, and Blended Learning
  • Teaching Chair in one of the following areas: Internationalizing Teaching and Learning; Community Engaged Teaching Scholarship; Indigenous Teaching and Learning

TERM: Two-year term appointment to commence July 2017.


DECISION: End of January, 2017.


Teaching Chairs are tenured, tenure-track or continuing faculty who have demonstrated teaching excellence and a desire to advocate and support evidence-based university-wide teaching excellence.

The goal of these Chairs is three-fold: to provide faculty leadership in the development of a community of practice in the area of teaching and learning; to provide peer support to faculty members who wish to develop their research and practice in the area of pedagogy; and to engage in and share scholarship of teaching and learning research and best-practices across the university community and beyond.

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES CAN INCLUDE (working with the Centre for Teaching & Learning)

Foster the culture of teaching and learning excellence at Cape Breton University.

Champion teaching & learning best practices with technologies in on-campus, online, and community classroom spaces.

Work with Unama’ki College to help facilitate as directed by the College indigenization of teaching and learning at Cape Breton University.

Contribute to the scholarship of teaching and learning across the Schools and College.

As identified by the Dean and Assistant Dean of RTGS specific duties can include:

  • Assisting the Educational Developer, in teaching and learning development, implementation and assessment.
  • Developing strategic plans for the implementation of teaching excellence at CBU.
  • Organizing and assisting in the delivery of teaching and learning workshops, talks, retreats and programs.
  • Assisting with individual consultation and classroom observations with faculty members.
  • Providing mentorship for small groups of faculty.
  • Engaging in teaching and learning research (including action research) and disseminating such research to the CBU community as well as at Teaching and Learning conferences.
  • Representing CBU on university, regional and national, and international teaching and learning committees and associations (e.g. Association of Atlantic Universities Faculty Development Committee, Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, etc.).


Calls for Chairs are based on particular themes that are determined by the Dean and Assistant Dean of RTGS in consultation with the CTL staff and the School/College deans.


2 years (staggered starts).

July 1, 2017-June 30, 2019: 2 chairs

July 1, 2018-June 30, 2020: 2 chairs


Three-credit course release per year determined in consultation with School Dean.


Annual research grant of $2000 for the duration of the Chair to conduct and disseminate Scholarship of Teaching & Learning research.


Call for applications will be 8-12 months prior to the commencement of the term to allow for school/college planning.

Applicants will submit:

1) An outline of an activity plan to be carried out through the duration of the chair with evidence of alignment with the particular theme identified in the call and potential long term impacts for the CBU teaching culture.

2) Philosophy of teaching.

2) Evidence of teaching excellence with examples of innovative practices that, for example, integrate new technologies in campus classrooms, and online and place-based communities; demonstrate a commitment to indigenization; illustrate relevant and innovative assessment and evaluation (sample course outlines activities, assessment materials should be included as appendices).

3) Course evaluations (past 3 years). In the case of new faculty with less than three years of course evaluations, submit what is available including evaluations from other institutions.  

4) Examples of participation, contribution and leadership in teaching and learning development.

5) Curriculum Vitae.

6) Letter of support from School/College Dean.


Applications will be submitted by applicants via SharePoint. Specific Details to Follow.


The applications will be assessed by a committee made up of:

Dean, RTGS

Assistant Dean, RTGS (faculty member)

Educational Developer (CTL staff)

Chair, PCTL (faculty member)

Chair, TLEC (faculty member)

One School Dean (appointed by VPA)